2016 New England Newspaper Conference

Newspapers of the Year

Weekday newspapers,
Circulation less than 10,000

Gloucester (Mass.) Daily Times
Mark Murphy, president of the New England Newspaper and
Press Association, left; David Olson, editor

Weekday newspapers,
Circulation 35,000 or more

The Providence (R.I.) Journal
From left, Mark Murphy; David Butler, executive editor and senior vice president for news and audience development; Janet Hasson,
regional vice president and publisher; Kirk Davis,
chief executive officer, GateHouse Media LLC

Weekday newspapers,
Circulation 15,000-20,000

The Standard-Times, New Bedford, Mass.
From left, Mark Murphy; Beth Perdue, editor; Jack Spillane,
executive news editor; Mike Lawrence, reporter

Weekday newspapers,
Circulation 10,000-15,000

The MetroWest Daily News, Framingham, Mass.
Richard Lodge, editor in chief

Weekday newspapers,
Circulation 20,000-35,000

The Patriot Ledger of Quincy, Mass.
Linda Shepherd, city editor

Sunday newspapers,
Circulation less than 20,000

Sunday Valley News of Lebanon, N.H
From left, Mark Murphy; Ernie Kohlsaat, Sunday Valley News editor; David Bailey, sports page editor; Liz Sauchelli, calendar editor;
Aimee Caruso, reporter

Sunday newspapers,
Circulation 20,000-30,000

Sun Journal of Lewiston, Maine
From left, Mark Murphy; Judith Meyer, executive editor:
Stephen Costello, vice president and co-owner

Sunday newspapers,
Circulation 30,000-45,000

The Sunday Republican of Waterbury, Conn.
Anne Karolyi, managing editor

Sunday newspapers,
Circulation 45,000 or more

Sunday Telegram of Worcester, Mass.
From left, Mark Murphy; Karen Webber, executive editor;
Paul Provost, publisher

Weekly community newspapers,
Circulation less than 3,500

The Vermont Standard of Woodstock, Vt.
Phillip Camp, publisher

Weekly community newspapers,
Circulation 3,500-8,000

Andover (Mass.) Townsman
From left, Mark Murphy; Gabriella Cruz, reporter; Bill Kirk, editor

Weekly community newspapers,
Circulation 8,000 or more

The Ellsworth (Maine) American
Stephen Fay, managing editor


Specialty newspapers

Worcester (Mass.) Magazine
Kathleen Real, publisher


Representatives of the newspapers that won the awards
are all pictured with their plaques, presented to them by Mark Murphy, president of the New England Newspaper and Press Association.

Bulletin photos by Chris Christo

POSTED 10/13/16

© Copyright 1998-2016 New England Newspaper and Press Association. All rights reserved.