2016 New England Newspaper Conference

Publick Occurrences Awards

Daily Newspapers

The Hartford (Conn.) Courant

Mark Murphy, president of the New England Newspaper and Press Association, left; Nicholas Rondinone, reporter

The Eye/The New England Center for
Investigative Reporting

Jenifer McKim, senior investigative reporter and senior trainer

Sentinel & Enterprise of Fitchburg, Mass.
Charles St. Amand, editor

The Day of New London, Conn.

From left, Mark Murphy; Izaskun Larraneta, assistant managing editor for local news; Carlos Virgen, digital news director

The Providence (R.I.) Journal

From left, Mark Murphy; Janet Hasson, regional vice president and publisher; David Butler, executive editor and senior vice president for news and audience development

Daily Hampshire Gazette of Northampton, Mass.

Jeffrey Good, executive editor

Sun Journal of Lewiston, Maine

Judith Meyer, executive editor

Burlington (Vt.) Free Press

From left, Mark Murphy; Adam Silverman, content strategist: Mike Donoghue, accountability reporter (retired); Elizabeth Murray, crime and courts reporter; April Burbank, politics reporter

The Republican of Springfield, Mass.

George Graham, online reporter

The Herald News of Fall River, Mass.

Will Richmond, city editor

The Hartford (Conn.) Courant

From left, Mark Murphy; Matthew Kauffman, investigative reporter; John Ferraro, content manager/investigations

The Maine Center for Public Interest Reporting

From left, Mark Murphy; David Sherwood, reporter; John Christie, senior editor

Weekly Newspapers

Vineyard Gazette of Martha’s Vineyard, Mass.

From left, Mark Murphy; Jane Seagrave, publisher; Alex Elvin, reporter

The Inquirer and Mirror of Nantucket, Mass.

Marianne R. Stanton, editor and publisher

Andover (Mass.) Townsman

From left, Mark Murphy; Bill Kirk, editor; Gabriella Cruz, reporter

Representatives of the newspapers that won the awards are all pictured with their plaques, presented to them by Mark Murphy, president of the New England Newspaper and Press Association.

Bulletin photos by Chris Christo



© Copyright 1998-2016 New England Newspaper and Press Association. All rights reserved.